An Anecdote

The husband calls me at work every morning after he’s dropped off the little one at the grandparents for babysitting duties to share updates or feedback or relay needed information.  Yesterday, he shared an anecdote.

Upon noticing how she looked sort of contemplative back there alone in her car seat…as much as a 2 1/2 year old can look in that way, he asked her what she was thinking about.  

“I miss my mommy,” she said softly. (My heart broke in two right there at my desk.)  

So the husband replied empathetically, “I know,” he said.  “She’s a good mommy, isn’t she?” he asked.

And do you know what that sweet baby said in return? 

She said, “Yeah,” and after a moment’s thought, she added, “And you’re a good daddy.”

The husband pulled over to the side of the road, then, so he could cry just a little bit.

