Becoming a Contradiction

Not quite middle-age yet but this NYT article inspires me and assures me that it’s okay to not cut my hair when it starts getting to a certain length and I start getting to a certain age. I’m always hesitant to let it grow too long but realize now why I’ve been feeling pressure to do so.  Also, something she addresses in the article, I’m gonna see how long I can go without shampoo and conditioner. I do have a corporate job so I can’t go in looking too greasy but if I can get through the initial stages of going natural and letting my heads natural oils do their thing without looking too gross, I will happily forgo the chemicals. I’ll have to do a little more research to see if it’s something the whole family can get away with. I don’t know, do kids immune systems require a more stringent cleanliness of the hair?

I say I’m becoming a contradiction because I’m not like a total hippie or anything (not that there’s anything wrong with that). I still shave my legs/pits (even panty-line in the summer) and paint my nails and wear make-up. I don’t buy into the theory that you have to be 100% consistent with any one way of thinking. To me, that’s what constitutes stereotypes. Not that I think certain stereotypes are wrong, and I acknowledge that they can even be a useful tool in society, I just don’t want to fall so easily into one or another. I live in the city but I’d love to raise chickens in my backyard. I’m a raging liberal but I work for corporate America. I believe in free healthcare but am so grateful for my own health benefits. I’m not a hypocrite, though. I don’t drive a Hummer, I don’t eat meat (anymore), we live in a tiny house and have a tiny environmental footprint, I work and my husband is a SAHD.

I just do what I hope is right for my family. I don’t fall into any one bucket. I try not to, anyway.

Did this whole rant start with my hair?

  1. #1 by Jeanette on October 23, 2010 - 10:50 am

    I very very rarely wash my boys hair, and they don’t smell ~( well their hair doesn’t) or look manky.
    My big girls are at that age where they use products in their hair, so they do wash it, and I’ve never tried the not washing thing because basically I’m far too vain, and anyway I dye my hair every 6 weeks or so, and that means some washing, but I think it’s a great idea.
    Oh yes, and I’m 41 with long hair. I sometimes do think I might cut it a sensible shoulder length, but I never do, just like I think sometimes I should dye it a nice sensible middle aged brown instead of red, but that hasn’t happened yet either! :0)

  2. #2 by b on October 23, 2010 - 12:20 pm

    i don’t shampoo my hair more than about twice a fortnight. i wet it thoroughly and condition it every day though. my hair’s curly and i started it off because someone suggested i try the curly girl method – http://www.wikihow.com/Follow-the-Curly-Girl-Method-for-Curly-Hair – i don’t use any product at all and normally just use the one conditioner. i don’t know if you have curly (or wavy) hair (it works for both) but even if you have straight hair i’m sure you can use some kind of variation on it!

    and i don’t defuzz anything. i trim a little but that’s it. and i’m sure that was TMI, i’m sorry 🙂

  3. #3 by Catherine W on October 24, 2010 - 3:52 pm

    Geesh, having had waist length hair for nearly all of my adult life this one weighs heavy on my mind. WHEN do I cut it off? I think I’ll probably just keep it and be one of those old ladies who wears her hair in a bun.
    Jeanette, I simply cannot imagine you with sensible brown hair instead of red! It looks so lovely as it is, don’t change it!

Leave a Reply

