I’d love to write a book

I’m not sure I have what it takes, though. I know I don’t have the peace of mind to concentrate on such an endeavor, for one thing. But I’m also not sure I have the capacity in my brain to put together a full story. I can barely write on this blog on a regular basis or for more than a few minutes at a time. What would I even write a book about? I kind of want to just write about my life but that doesn’t feel like enough. I mean, once that’s done, then what? If you’re going to be a writer, aren’t you supposed to have multiple stories in your head? I think so and I think more importantly, you need practice. So instead of thinking too far in the future, I’m going to just continue writing here on my little blog and call it practice. Some day, I may decide to write that book.

L will be moving in a few short years, I’ll retire eventually, so I should have plenty of time to focus and concentrate at that point. Of course, people who put off something like this probably never actually get around to it. That’s what happens to plans. You make them and then something comes along and screws it all up.

On the other hand, it’s nice to have something to look forward to. More than just to give you hope, but to give you direction. If you don’t have anything to look forward to, then how are you supposed to make decisions? That’s my thought anyway. I like to have some vague idea of happiness at the end of a period in life so when pivot points happen, I can base my choice on something I’d like to have available to me in the long run. I learned somewhere along the way that you don’t want to be too specific, but I’m not ready to give up all the control to the universe. I still want to be steering this ship in the end.

So anyway, that’s all I can think about writing today. Let’s hope I can come back tomorrow with a little more.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment