Archive for May 9th, 2010

Olivia’s Mommy

Mother’s Day is over in 5 more minutes. We’re watching Inglorious Bastards, ate well, a lovely lunch and yummy pastries for dessert. A calm afternoon with a happy, productive husband.

But the day passed without a single mention of Olivia. Until I brought her up before the movie. Briefly. Tears stifled at the reply.

What should I have said, he asked.

Honestly I have no idea. I can’t put words to thoughts for anything. Yet I so strongly feel there should be something.

He eats like he was ravished, watches the movie with delightful curiosity, ignorant to anything hurtful in his words.

There was nothing hurtful meant, though. Yet I’m left remembering a child of mine who will never. She’ll just never. She will always be the reason Lily is introduced as my living child.

Nonetheless, it was a nice day. How is that possible?

3 Comments